I have enough spirituality in my life. Do you agree or disagree?

Right, the first step in this trial was the signup, which involved a few pages of particularly tedious questionnaires. This is where I found the first flaw in the process, you’re not allowed to take part if you’ve used the product in the last 6 months; the only control being that you say you haven’t. Now, what stops someone attempting to sabotage the trial by signing up despite having used them recently? To be fair, this would only be counter-sobatage to what we are doing, so I can’t complain too much.

The majority of the questions asked centred around whether or not you were a “spirtual” person. Speaking as a scientist, whose understanding of energy comes from the laws of physics and not the Daily Mail health section, I’ve never really considered myself a spiritual person. Having answered several questions designed to determine whether I’m spiritual or not I come across the question that titles this post. I have a problem with this question, in itself it’s not ambiguous, but the answer can be misleading. I have to agree with the statement because I feel I have enough spirituality for my liking, i.e. none, but surely someone who is extremely spiritual could do the same; hopefully the person who designed the study will take this into account and not treat each question individually.

Anyway, I digress. The interesting thing about this study is that it seems to be trying determine if there is a link between the level of a persons spirituality and their opinion as to whether Bach Flower Essences work; to me this is a roundabout way of determining if the effect is psychosomatic and basically a placebo effect. If this is the case, why not do a randomised double blind placebo controlled trial and find out.

For now, I’m waiting for my bottle of hornbeam essence (for apathy etc etc etc according to the trial) to arrive. I’ll keep you posted, you never know I might be proven wrong and find that I suddenly have a whole new lust for life.

Leave a Reply

